Park & Recreation Grant Commission

Request email notification when page changes



The Madison County Board has created the Park and Recreation Grant Commission under the provisions of The Illinois Metro-East Park and Recreation District Act 70 ILCS 1605/20. This Act made it possible for the voters of Madison County to approve the creation of the Metro-East Park and Recreation District and the establishment a 1/10 of one percent sales tax for the purpose of providing funding for both regional and local park and recreation facility improvements.

The voters approved the District and the tax in November 2000. The purpose of the Park and Recreation Grant Commission is to develop a method to distribute the portion of the sales tax funds available for local facilities in Madison County.

Madison County Park and Recreation Grant Commission Members:

James Goggin, Chair (Edwardsville)

Robert Barnhart (Alton)

Kelly Tracy (Marine)

Ron Parente (Granite City)

Mark Rosen (Highland)



Park & Recreation Grant Commission Coordinator
Madison County Community Development
130 Hillsboro Ave.
Edwardsville, IL 62025
(618) 692-7040 ext. 4386

Copyright © 2015 Madison County, IL
All Rights Reserved..

157 North Main Street,
Edwardsville, IL. 62025
618-296-6200 | Click HERE to Email
Department Contact Information Click HERE
Business Hours:  Monday-Friday, 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM
89°57'28.758"W 38°48'47.095"N